Newly Implemented Travel Restrictions for Europe/Schengen Area

On March 11, 2020, President Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation further limiting travel to the United States for foreign nationals traveling from several European countries due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Proclamation suspends entry to the United States of most foreign nationals who have been in Schengen Area countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival in the United States.  The impacted countries include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. The United Kingdom is not included in the restriction.

The entry restrictions went into effect on Friday, March 13, 2020 at 11:59 pm ET. The restriction will not apply to persons aboard flights scheduled to arrive in the U.S. that departed prior to 11:59 pm ET on March 13.

The entry restrictions do not apply to U.S. citizens, U.S. lawful permanent residents, immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and certain other individuals who are identified in the proclamation. Those who are allowed to enter the U.S. after travel to Europe will likely be subject to quarantine measures and their flights may be directed to selected ports of entry, as yet to be named.

News outlets have widely reported that the suspension will remain in effect for 30 days. However, the Proclamation does not specify a time period. We are monitoring the implementation of these measures and will provide updates as they become available.