Update on Presidential Proclamations Barring Entry to the U.S. – India

On April 30, 2021, President Joe Biden issued a proclamation to bar entry to individuals who have been physically present in India in the 14 days prior to entering the U.S. The proclamation went into effect on May 4, 2021.

All routine visa and Visa Application Center (VAC) appointments, both in-person and interview waiver, at the U.S. Embassy in New Delhi and the consulates in Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, and Mumbai are cancelled until further notice. Emergency services for U.S. citizens will continue. Please refer to the embassy website for further information and updates.

Background: In January 2020, the Trump administration began issuing geographical Presidential Proclamations to implement restrictions on entry to the U.S. from certain countries (Schengen Area, Ireland, U.K., Brazil, China, Iran, and South Africa) in response to COVID-19. These six geographical proclamations (P.P. 9984, 9992, 9993, 9996, 10041, 10143) suspend travel to the U.S. for any foreign nationals who have been physically present in those countries within the immediately preceding 14 days prior to their intended arrival in the U.S. The suspension also applies to transiting through a U.S. airport or transiting through an airport of a country on the banned list. These proclamations remain in effect until terminated by the President.